The Rowing Ireland Awards Ceremony at Portlaoise hit the mark so well that it raised the question as to why this was, effectively, an inaugural event.
Not all the award winners were available, and there were some technical glitches. The choices might be put out to a wider panel and to some public voting in the future. But there was a good buzz about the event – and a green tinge to the lighting!
The main picture shows award winners Siobhán McCrohan, Steven McGowan and Alison Bergin. Below, Holly Davis and her mother, Catherine Cashman, and Fergus Hannon, Athlone, with Enniskillen coach Derek Holland, who accepted the award on behalf of Thor Nilsen, who died earlier this year. 

The Award Winners, in order of presentation, were:

President’s Awards

Brenda Ewing 

Thor Nilsen RIP

Volunteer of Year

Michelle McDonagh

Umpire of Year

Andrew Tubman

Women in Sport Advocate

Aifric Keogh

Rowability of the Year

Steven McGowan

Up and Coming Rower of Year

Alison Bergin

Senior Female Rower of Year

Siobhán McCrohan

Senior Male Rower of Year

Fintan McCarthy

Junior Female Rower

Holly Davis

Junior Male Rower

Shane Rafferty

Coach of Year

Fergus Hannon, Athlone

Club of Year

University of Limerick