It was a day of wickedly changeable weather, but there was no alteration in the pattern at the Colours Races on the Liffey today. UCD came in as favourites for the big prizes, and so it proved.
UCD’s senior men secured the Gannon Cup, their fourth in-a-row (albeit with a Covid break in 2020 and 2021). In a torrential downpour, they fashioned an early lead and effectively burnt off the Trinity challenge by half-way.
There was pathos in the win, as the crew wore a Roscommon badge in memory of coach Martin Feeley, who died last December. Feeley represented Ireland at the Olympic Games and won a Ladies’ Plate with UCD at Henley. But it was as a coach these young men remembered him and his death was a blow. “It is a huge loss,” said Paul Flood, in the number five seat on the day. UCD are now just one shy of Trinity’s 36 Gannon Cup wins.
As expected, Trinity started well in the Corcoran Cup for senior women. But their opponents in blue and saffron covered it and then laid down the pattern which the men would follow, pushing into a good lead in the middle of the race. Sarah Daly, the stroke woman, and her twin Alison, in the seven seat, were winning their third Corcoran Cups.
The sole win for Trinity came in the novice men’s race, and it followed the template of the day; passing the Four Courts, the eventual winners were set fair for the win. UCD’s novice women also won well in a race which went off early – another pattern for the day.
The pattern in the Boat Races on the Thames was so very different: Cambridge came from behind to win an excellent women’s race – with huge credit due to cox Hannah Murphy. The men’s race was also a good battle … and Cambridge also won.

Colours Races 2024

Gannon Cup (senior men’s eight): UCD (D Crooks, S Daly, A Carroll, C Conway, P Flood, R Mason, E McGrath, D Murray; cox R Nelson) bt Trinity.
Corcoran Cup (senior women’s eight): UCD (N Campbell, J Farrell, N Allison, T Phelan, D O’Brien, L Roche, A Daly, S Daly; cox L Ryan) bt Trinity.
Novice Men (Dan Quinn Shield): Trinity bt UCD.
Novice Women (Sally Moorhead Trophy): UCD bt Trinity.